Ghost Fitness

Ghost Fitness/Guides/What does batch tested mean?

What does batch tested mean?

By George Thomas. Published 28 November 2026, updated 28 November 2026. Label figures and prices checked on the update date.

The short answer

Every production batch was sampled and analysed, rather than the product being tested once or periodically, because contamination follows the raw-material lot. The batch number on the tub is what a certificate is matched to.

  • A batchone production run from one set of raw-material lots, identified by a batch or lot number
  • Batch testeda sample from every batch analysed, against the alternatives of once, periodically or never
  • Why the batchcontamination and potency follow the raw-material lot, so one batch says nothing about the next
  • The linkthe batch number on the tub, matched to a certificate or a database entry
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate, 180 capsule bottle

Our brand: the worked example on this page

Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate

  • 22p a day
  • 180 capsules, 2 capsules daily
  • Lab tested
  • Made in the UK

View on Amazon UK, £19.99 Full label breakdown

Batch tested, in the parsed sense: Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate on Amazon UK, every batch tested for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium, batch number printed, £19.99 for 90 days at 22p. Full label breakdown. The certificate anatomy is on the certificate guide; the batch walkthrough for athletes on the certified supplements guide.

What a batch is, what batch tested means against its alternatives, and why the batch is the unit that matters

Batch tested is a phrase with a precise meaning and three weaker alternatives it is distinguished from, and the meaning starts with what a batch is. A batch, or lot, is one production run: a defined quantity of product made at one time, from one set of raw-material lots, on one line, released together and identified by a batch or lot number printed on every unit, the number the Regulations require for traceability and the key to the batch record a GMP facility keeps. Batch tested means that a sample from every such batch was drawn and analysed, for whatever the claim specifies, heavy metals, potency, microbiology, prohibited substances, with a result recorded against that batch's number, so that every tub sold is covered by a test on the batch it came from. The alternatives it is distinguished from: tested once, a product analysed at launch or at formulation and never again, the certificate being years old and describing a different run; tested periodically, a product sampled at intervals, annually or by blind retail purchase, so that some batches are covered and most are not, the Informed Choice model at product level being an honest version of this and a launch-year certificate a dishonest one; and never tested, the in-house checks of GMP standing in for a phrase that implies more. Why the batch is the unit that matters is the reason every testing guide on this site repeats the word: contamination and potency follow the raw-material lot, a bulk drum of magnesium salt from one supplier's run carrying whatever that run carried, a harvest of mushroom from one substrate lot carrying that substrate's cadmium, a whey lot from one dairy run carrying that run's profile, so that a clean result on one batch says nothing certain about the next batch made from the next drum, and only a test on this batch describes this tub.

How the number on the tub connects to a certificate, what batch tested does not mean, and the phrase read on a label

The batch number is the link between the tub and the evidence, and the connection is mechanical. On the tub: a lot or batch code, usually near the best-before, on the base, the lid seal or a sticker, the traceability pair with the date. On a certificate of analysis: the same number in the header, identifying the sample the laboratory tested, so that a certificate is matched to a tub by reading one against the other, a certificate with a different batch number, or none, covering a different run or nothing. On a certification database: for every-batch programmes such as Informed Sport, the product's entry lists the tested batches, and the tub's number is searched and matched before an athlete takes it, the certified supplements guide's walkthrough. What batch tested does not mean: it does not specify the analytes, so a batch-tested claim is completed by asking tested for what, metals for a mushroom or mineral, oxidation for an oil, prohibited substances for an athlete's product; it does not specify the party, in-house batch testing being real and first-party and an external laboratory's batch testing being the third-party version; and it does not mean every capsule was tested, a sample representing the batch, which is why the facility's GMP homogeneity matters. The phrase read on a label: batch tested with the analytes named and a lab named is the strong form, batch tested alone is a phrase to complete with the four questions, and the worked example's label reads in the strong form, every batch tested by an independent laboratory for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium, the batch number printed on the bottle and the certificate for that number askable from the brand, the phrase meaning exactly what this page says it means.

Batch tested, parsed
The elementThe meaningThe alternative it excludes
A batchOne production run from one set of raw-material lots, numberedA product in general
Batch testedA sample from every batch analysed and recordedOnce at launch; periodically; never
Why the batchContamination and potency follow the raw-material lotAssuming one batch describes the next
The linkThe batch number on the tub matched to a certificate or databaseA certificate for another run, or none
Not specified by the phraseThe analytes and the partyComplete it: tested for what, by whom
The strong formBatch tested by a named lab for named analytesBatch tested alone

The verdict, every run, by number

What does batch tested mean: that a sample from every production batch, one run from one set of raw-material lots identified by a batch number, was analysed and recorded against that number, rather than the product being tested once at launch, periodically or never, because contamination and potency follow the raw-material lot and one batch says nothing about the next, the number on the tub being matched to a certificate of analysis or a database entry, and the phrase completed by asking tested for what and by whom. The strong form on a label: Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate, every batch tested by an independent laboratory for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium, batch number printed, certificate askable, £19.99 for 90 days at 22p a day.

What to check on the label

  • Know what a batch is: one run, one set of lots, one number.
  • Read batch tested against its alternatives: once, periodically, never.
  • Understand why the batch matters: the raw-material lot carries the risk.
  • Match the number: tub to certificate or database.
  • Complete the phrase: tested for what, by whom.

Our brand

The worked example: Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate

Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate is the worked example for the buying guides because its label is the kind these guides teach you to demand: 1500mg magnesium bisglycinate at 20%, 300mg elemental, 80% NRV, 2 capsules a day, 180 capsules for £19.99, 22p a day, UK made, vegan, batch tested for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium, address printed, no proprietary blend, and the same four authorised claims any honest magnesium may carry.

Elemental magnesium per serving
300mg (80% NRV)
Form
magnesium bisglycinate 20%
Serving
2 capsules a day
Bottle
180 capsules, 90 days
Price
£19.99 (22p a day)
Capsule
vegetarian shell, vegan product
View on Amazon UK, £19.99 Full label breakdown
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate, 180 capsule bottle

Questions people also ask

What is a batch in supplement manufacturing?

One production run: a defined quantity made at one time from one set of raw-material lots on one line, released together and identified by a batch or lot number printed on every unit, the key to the facility's batch record.

Why does batch testing matter more than testing a product once?

Because contamination and potency follow the raw-material lot: a drum of mineral salt, a harvest of mushroom or a lot of whey carries what that lot carried, so a clean result on one batch says nothing certain about the next.

Where is the batch number on a supplement?

Usually near the best-before date, or on the base, the lid seal or a sticker, as a lot or batch code, the traceability pair with the date that the Regulations require.

Does batch tested mean every capsule was tested?

No: a sample represents the batch, which is why a GMP facility's blending homogeneity matters, and the sample's result is recorded against the batch number that covers every tub from that run.

What should I ask when a label says batch tested?

Tested for what and by whom: the analytes for your category, metals, oxidation, potency or prohibited substances, and whether the testing was by an independent laboratory, with the certificate for your batch number requested from the brand.

Sources

  1. UK and retained EU contaminant law: maximum levels for lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic in food supplements are set in legislation, with certain fungus-based supplements holding specific cadmium limits. https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2006/1881/contents
  2. The supplement manufacturing standards: Good Manufacturing Practice, the BRCGS Global Standard for Food Safety and ISO 22000 are the facility-level certifications a contract manufacturer holds and a brand may cite. https://www.brcgs.com/our-standards/food-safety/
  3. The sports supplement certification programmes: Informed Sport, Informed Choice, BSCG and NSF Certified for Sport test products or batches for banned substances, the assurance competing athletes rely on. https://sport.wetestyoutrust.com/
  4. The heavy metals analysis literature: inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry is the standard method for quantifying lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic in dietary supplements against regulatory maximum levels. PubMed record