Ghost Fitness/Guides/What are the top 5 supplement brands in the world?
What are the top 5 supplement brands in the world?
The short answer
The five biggest are five business models, and the model decides the tub. The pharmacy-shelf multinational makes population doses; the direct-selling network prices for commission layers; the sports e-commerce brand sells flavour and subscription; the family catalogue sells range cheaply; the practitioner brand sells clinical doses. Read the model, not the rank.
- Five models, not five namesthe world's largest supplement brands by revenue each run a different business model, and the model determines the dose, the price, the claim and the testing far more than the rank does
- Dose follows the modela population dose at the reference value from the pharmacy shelf, a clinical dose from the practitioner brand, a commodity dose from the catalogue, a flavoured serving from the sports brand, and a proprietary blend from the network
- Price follows the modelpence from the catalogue's cost floor, a promotion-and-subscription price from the sports brand, a brand premium from the pharmacy shelf, a clinic markup from the practitioner brand, and a commission stack from the network
- One check for all fivethe UK importer's name and address on the tub, without which the world's biggest brand is a grey import in a UK buyer's hands
Our brand: the worked example on this page
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate
- 22p a day
- 180 capsules, 2 capsules daily
- Lab tested
- Made in the UK
A sixth model, the small UK direct-to-consumer brand: Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate on Amazon UK, one marketplace and one price, 300mg elemental at 80% NRV, batch tested for four metals, UK made, 180 for £19.99, 22p a day, with the premium going to the testing rather than to a commission layer, a flavour or a clinic. Full label breakdown. The world top ten as an ownership map is on the top ten page; trust as five moments in a year on the most trusted brands page; quality brands on the best quality brands page.
Five brands, five business models: why a world top five by revenue is a list of ways of selling, and the first three models read for what each optimises and what that does to the tub
What are the top five supplement brands in the world is a question answered by revenue tables that change order every year, and a UK buyer who reads the table has learnt which companies sold the most tubs without learning anything about the tub. The useful observation is that the biggest supplement businesses in the world are not five versions of the same thing with different logos; they are five different business models, each of which got large by optimising for something, and the thing each optimises for shows up in the dose, the price, the claim and the testing of every product it sells. No brand is named in the body of this page, by rule; the models are described, and a buyer who holds a tub can place it in one of them in a minute.
The first model is the pharmacy-shelf multinational: a brand owned by a large consumer-health or pharmaceutical group, sold through pharmacies and supermarkets in dozens of countries, usually built around a multivitamin and a small range of single nutrients. It optimises for a dose the whole population can take without a test, which means doses at or near the reference value and well below any upper level, and for claims a regulator in every market will pass, which means the authorised register claims and nothing adventurous; its testing is the group's pharmaceutical quality system, which is thorough, and its price carries a brand premium for the name on the shelf. A tub from this model is safe, conservative, correctly labelled and more expensive per milligram than it needs to be, and it will never contain a clinical dose of anything.
The second model is the direct-selling network: a brand sold person to person through a hierarchy of distributors who each earn a commission on what the people below them sell. It optimises for a price that can pay several layers of commission and still leave a margin, which means the highest price per milligram of any model, and for products that are hard to compare with the shelf, which means proprietary blends with undeclared amounts, a signature ingredient and a story. Its testing is whatever the contract manufacturer provides, and its claims are made by the distributors in person, which no regulator reads. A tub from this model is the most expensive way to buy whatever is in it, and what is in it is often not stated in amounts.
The third model is the sports-nutrition e-commerce brand: a brand that sells protein, creatine, pre-workout and the rest online, directly and through marketplaces, in many flavours and sizes. It optimises for flavour, for promotion, since its list price is a number from which the discount is taken, and for the subscription that makes the second purchase automatic; its doses are per flavoured serving and usually sound, its claims lean on the sport, and its testing varies from a banned-substance programme on the flagship lines to nothing on the rest. A tub from this model is competitively priced at the promoted price, not at the list price, and is read by the serving rather than the label's front.
Three models read, with the family-owned catalogue, the practitioner brand, the one check for all five, the worked example as a sixth model and the verdict in the next section.
The fourth and fifth models, the family-owned catalogue and the practitioner brand; the one check that applies to all five in a UK buyer's hands; the worked example as a sixth model, the small UK direct-to-consumer brand; and the verdict
The fourth model is the family-owned catalogue: a privately held manufacturer with its own facilities and a catalogue of many hundreds of products across every category, sold through retailers and marketplaces worldwide at the lowest prices of any large brand. It optimises for range, since the catalogue is the product, and for a cost floor, since its own manufacturing and its volume let it undercut every reseller; its doses are commodity doses at the standard amounts, its claims are the plain ones, and its testing is its own laboratory at a scale a small brand cannot match. A tub from this model is cheap, usually correctly dosed, and arrives in the UK as an import whose trust has to be converted at the border, which the previous pages in this section cover. The fifth model is the practitioner brand: a brand sold through clinics, nutritionists and practitioner dispensaries rather than shops, with a professional-only register and a line of products at clinical doses. It optimises for a dose a clinician would prescribe, which means amounts above the shelf's and sometimes near the upper levels, and for a price the clinic can mark up, which means a premium justified by the dose and the channel; its testing is typically strong and its claims are made in the consultation, not on the label. A tub from this model is the right product for the person whose practitioner prescribed it and an expensive and sometimes excessive one for anyone who bought it from a listing.
One check applies to all five in a UK buyer's hands, and it is the same whatever the rank: the UK importer's or the brand's UK entity's name and address on the tub. The world's biggest brand bought from a marketplace seller who shipped it from abroad is a grey import with nobody in the UK responsible for it, and a brand's revenue rank is no protection against a tub nobody here answers for; the address is read before the model, and a tub without one is put back whichever of the five it came from. The second check follows from the model: a population dose from the pharmacy shelf is read against what the buyer actually needs, a blend from the network is read for the amounts it does not state, a sports tub is read per serving at the promoted price, a catalogue tub is read for its UK label and its claim conversion, and a practitioner dose is read against the upper level and the absence of the practitioner.
The worked example is a sixth model, the small UK direct-to-consumer brand, placed here so the buyer can read it the same way: {FL}, 1500mg magnesium bisglycinate stated as 300mg elemental at 80% NRV, two capsules with the evening meal, sold on one marketplace at one price with no commission layer, no flavour and no clinic, optimises for the testing it pays for, batch testing for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium by ICP-MS at an accredited UK lab with the certificate by lot on request, and for a UK label with a UK responsible operator and register claims; UK made under GMP and BRC, 180 capsules for £19.99 at 22p a day, a price above the catalogue's cost floor and below the pharmacy shelf's premium, with the difference going to the test. The full label breakdown is here.
The verdict: the top five supplement brands in the world are five business models, and the model decides the tub. The pharmacy-shelf multinational sells a safe population dose at a brand premium; the direct-selling network sells blends at a commission stack; the sports e-commerce brand sells flavour at a promoted price with a subscription; the family-owned catalogue sells range at a cost floor as an import; the practitioner brand sells clinical doses at a clinic markup. A UK buyer reads the model to predict the dose, the price, the claim and the testing, checks the UK address on all five, and reads the rank last, because the rank says who sold the most and the model says what they sold.
| Model | Optimises for | Dose and claim | Price and testing |
|---|---|---|---|
| The pharmacy-shelf multinational | A dose the whole population can take; a claim every regulator passes | At or near the reference value; register claims only | A brand premium; the group's pharmaceutical quality system |
| The direct-selling network | A price that pays several commission layers; products hard to compare | Proprietary blends with undeclared amounts; claims made in person | The highest price per milligram; the contract manufacturer's testing |
| The sports-nutrition e-commerce brand | Flavour, promotion and subscription | Per flavoured serving, usually sound; claims lean on the sport | Read at the promoted price, not the list; a programme on the flagship lines |
| The family-owned catalogue | Range and a cost floor | Commodity doses; plain claims converted at the UK border | The lowest prices of any large brand; its own laboratory at scale |
| The practitioner brand | A dose a clinician would prescribe; a channel the clinic marks up | Clinical doses, sometimes near the upper level; claims in the consultation | A premium for the dose and the channel; typically strong testing |
| The one check for all five | A UK importer's or UK entity's name and address on the tub | Without it, the world's biggest brand is a grey import | Read before the model and before the rank |
| Reading the rank last | Revenue says who sold the most | The model says what they sold | A buyer predicts the tub from the model in a minute |
| A sixth model: the worked exampleOurs | The testing it pays for; one marketplace, one price | 300mg elemental at 80% NRV; register claims; a UK label | 22p a day, above the cost floor and below the brand premium; four-metal ICP-MS batch test by lot |
What to check on the label
- Place the tub in a model: pharmacy shelf, direct-selling network, sports e-commerce, family catalogue or practitioner brand.
- Predict the dose from the model before reading the label's front.
- Read a sports brand at the promoted price and a network brand at the price per milligram it never shows.
- Check the UK address on all five; the rank does not convert a grey import.
- Read a practitioner dose against the upper level when there is no practitioner.
Our brand
The worked example: Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate
Futuro Labs Magnesium Glycinate is the worked example for the buying guides because its label is the kind these guides teach you to demand: 1500mg magnesium bisglycinate at 20%, 300mg elemental, 80% NRV, 2 capsules a day, 180 capsules for £19.99, 22p a day, UK made, vegan, batch tested for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium, address printed, no proprietary blend, and the same four authorised claims any honest magnesium may carry.
- Elemental magnesium per serving
- 300mg (80% NRV)
- Form
- magnesium bisglycinate 20%
- Serving
- 2 capsules a day
- Bottle
- 180 capsules, 90 days
- Price
- £19.99 (22p a day)
- Capsule
- vegetarian shell, vegan product
Questions people also ask
Which supplement brand is the biggest in the world?
The revenue tables change order year by year and the answer is less useful than it sounds, because the biggest supplement businesses are five different business models rather than five versions of one thing: a pharmacy-shelf multinational selling population doses at a brand premium, a direct-selling network selling blends at a commission stack, a sports-nutrition e-commerce brand selling flavour at a promoted price, a family-owned catalogue selling range at a cost floor, and a practitioner brand selling clinical doses through clinics; a UK buyer reads the model behind a tub to predict its dose, price, claim and testing, and reads the rank last.
Are the biggest supplement brands the best quality?
They are the most consistent within their model, which is not the same question: the pharmacy-shelf multinational's pharmaceutical quality system and the family-owned catalogue's own laboratory are testing at a scale small brands cannot match, which makes a correctly labelled commodity dose from either very likely to be what it says, while the direct-selling network's blends with undeclared amounts and the sports brand's non-flagship lines are tested only as well as their contract manufacturer tests them; size buys consistency in the models that optimise for it and buys nothing in the models that optimise for commission or flavour.
Why are direct-selling supplement brands so expensive?
Because the price has to pay a hierarchy of distributors each earning a commission on the sales of the people below them and still leave the company a margin, which makes the direct-selling network the most expensive model per milligram of any supplement business, and because the products are designed to be hard to compare with the shelf, with proprietary blends whose amounts are not declared, a signature ingredient and a story told in person where no regulator reads it; a buyer who wants what is in such a product can usually buy the declared ingredients at stated doses from a catalogue brand for a fraction of the price.
Is a practitioner supplement brand better than a shop brand?
It is a different model with a different dose: a practitioner brand sells through clinics and dispensaries at doses a clinician would prescribe, often above the shelf's and sometimes near the upper levels, with the claim made in the consultation and the price marked up by the channel, and that is the right product for the person whose practitioner prescribed it after a test; the same tub bought from a listing by someone with no practitioner is an expensive dose read against no result, and a UK buyer in that position reads it against the upper level before the brand name.
Which business model is this site's magnesium?
A sixth one, the small UK direct-to-consumer brand, placed on the same table so it can be read the same way: it sells on one marketplace at one price with no commission layer, no flavour and no clinic, and optimises for the testing it pays for, batch testing for lead, mercury, arsenic and cadmium by ICP-MS at an accredited UK lab with the certificate by lot on request, and for a UK label with a UK responsible operator and register claims; 1500mg magnesium bisglycinate stated as 300mg elemental at 80% NRV, UK made under GMP and BRC, 180 capsules for £19.99 at 22p a day, above the catalogue's cost floor and below the pharmacy shelf's premium.
Sources
- The food information regulations on responsibility: the food business operator under whose name a food is marketed is responsible for the information, and for a food imported from outside the UK that operator is the importer, who must ensure a compliant label in English with a UK or EU address. https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/article/8
- Retained Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006 on nutrition and health claims made on foods, and the Great Britain nutrition and health claims register. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/great-britain-nutrition-and-health-claims-nhc-register
- The consumer protection and advertising guidance on pricing practices: reference prices, multi-buy and was-now offers must reflect genuine prior pricing, and a promotion's value is tested by the unit price, the price per gram or per dose, rather than by the headline saving. https://www.asa.org.uk/advice-online/prices-promotions.html
- Companies House: the UK's public register of companies, searchable free by name or number, showing registered office, incorporation date, officers and filed accounts. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/